AOC Côtes du Roussillon Villages

Appellation area

The appellation Côtes du Roussillon Villages is reserved to wines produced on 32 villages in the north of the department.


This AOC covers vineyards clinging to steep hillsides or terraces soil schist, limestone and granite, along the banks of the Agly, the Verdouble and Maury.


Same grapes as the AOC Cotes du Roussillon (Carignan noir, Grenache noir, Lladoner Pelut, Syrah, Mourvèdre), plus additional quality constraints.


Four appellations «communales»

Four terroirs are distinguished by it originality, it specific production and the high expression of its wines. The four villages are allowed to add it name to the appellation Côtes du Roussillon Villages:

  • Latour de France, on soils mainly brown shale,
  • Caramany, on soil mainly gneiss,
  • Lesquerde, on soil dominated arenas granite,
  • Tautavel, on soils mainly red clay on limestone compact.

Key figures

1,325 ha

Average production

33,313 hl